How to forward SSH port example / Just-In-Time Feature Request

I use boring proxy for a lot of self-hosted services and really like it. As an admin I want to use boring proxy to create temporary tunnels for SSH access to the machine where other services are hosted.

I tried all permutations but could not figure out how to forward the SSH port.

My guess is as follows:

Domain: foo.example.com
Tunnel Port: 2244
Client Name: myclient
Client Address: 127.0.0.1
Client Port: 22
Allow External TCP: [x]
Password Protect: [ ]
TLS Termination: Client

chmod 0600 ~/Downloads/id_rsa
ssh -vvv -i ~/Downloads/id_rsa -p 2244 user@foo.example.com

However, this does not work.

Could anyone please provide an example of how to connect to a SSH server? Thanks!

I know, that feature requests would be best placed on GitHub but it would be awesome to have separate tokens that would allow access to the boring proxy ui to just enable or disable a tunnel. Maybe even time based for one hour. That way, boring proxy could emulate Just-In-Time access as it gets used by cloud providers to tighten security.

Hey @reiro. boringproxy doesn’t currently support reverse-SSH connections. The main reason for this is because all routing is based off the host name from the TLS client hello, ie only TLS-based connections are supported. Since SSH uses it’s own encryption stack it won’t work. It might be possible to add this functionality, but it’s not something I need personally so probably wouldn’t happen for a while. I’d recommend checking some of the other tunneling options from my list:

https://github.com/anderspitman/awesome-tunneling

You may be able to use one of those instead of boringproxy, or even alongside it.

It’s fine to ask for features on the forums. As far as disabling tunnels go, can you provide a real-world use case for this? Personally I just delete/add tunnels as necessary.

Thanks! That explains a lot :smiley:
As a workaround I could use something like Shellinabox.