End to end encryption and local server question/feedback

Hi Anders! I just wanted to say I saw your project and it looks like it’s going to be great to help people have a self hosted server without going through a bunch of technical setup, the project looks awesome! I just wanted to comment/feedback that probably from a users’ perspective with this kind of software one of the main concerns would be how could the user know that their connection was end to end encrypted all the way to localhost (and not decrypted at all in between) and that their basic auth username/password combo is not shared with any third party? As a user this would be my main concern, and I’ve seen comments like this on other forums when talking about other similar software. Also, I’m kind of new to this setup and was wondering if you know what kind of steps would be needed on the localhost server itself to have a secure enough local server to not get hacked etc.? For example running nginx with certain settings or setting up a strong firewall etc.? Maybe that 2nd question would fall more under the self-hosting category. This looks like a lot of hard work and thanks for creating this to help people.

Hey @gamechanger65!

These are great questions.

how could the user know that their connection was end to end encrypted all the way to localhost