Basics Tunneling

Hello!

Basically I understand very little about tunnelling, I have dealt with it but it has caused me some headaches.
My initial situation is as follows:
I am new to the world of self-hosting and have rented a VPS for this purpose.

For security reasons, I would like to keep the ports closed as much as possible, so I noticed Cloudflare Zero Trust with its tunnel.
What I really disliked is that Cloudflare terminates the TLS encryption instead of passing it through and thus can read all content, especially since not all services are end-to-end encrypted.

After that, I came across Tailscale, which has been offering tailscale funnels for not too long, which simply pass the encryption through between the server and the user. So I thought I would just use a mixture of Tailscale and Cloudflare.
In addition, I then thought of adding a dashboard and SSO to all services where this is possible to make it easier for everyone to use.

After intensive research, my plan was set, until I came across the Awesome tunnel list a few hours ago, where about 50 different tunnels are listed and described.
There I read about SSH tunnels that I didn’t know and it seemed to me that there are other software that allow the same function as Tailscale and Cloudflare.
Then again there are tunnels that seem to require a bastion host to tunnel to. Which tunnel now works how, I can not say for sure. But I would be very happy about a little light at the end of the tunnel. :wink:

Basically (I think, please correct me) I can distinguish these types:

• Wireguard or VPN network between devices and servers over the Internet.
  • tunnel between the own server and a service provider, which allows a connection over the internet and thus acts quasi like a foreign bastion host
  • direct access from the Internet to the own server with open ports
  • own bastion host

Furthermore, in my plans there would be these options for access control: